Javier Santiago Gonzalez de Leon
Ref# DU2119

About Me
My name is Javier Santiago Gonzalez de Leon. I'm a 7-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
January 4, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Dueñas

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

DU-2119

Dueñas, where your child lives, is a small farming village located at the foot of one of Guatemala's active volcanoes, Fuego (Fire).  The fertile ground around the village allows for the cultivation of roses and coffee, two of Guatemala's largest exports.  Most of the families in this area live in one or two room wooden or adobe houses with tin roofs.  Electricity is available to those who can afford it.  Running water is available - however, most homes do not have indoor plumbing.  Life in Dueñas is quiet.

Hello, my name is Javier Santiago Gonzalez de Leon.  I was born on January 4, 2012 and I am 7 years old.  I am in good health.  I attend the Duenas feeding program.  My father’s name is Edgar Antonio Gonzalez Perez and he works as a gas delivery man.  My mother’s name is Ingrid Daniela de Leon Ojer and she works as a domestic employee.  Both of them contribute to the household expenses.  We stay alone at home while my parents are working. We live in the house with my paternal grandparents.  All of my family lives in one room of the house, but we have a separate bathroom.  The room where we live is made of tin sheet roof and walls with a concrete floor.  We pay for our own electricity and water.  My house is about fifteen minutes from the feeding program.  I have only two sisters and no brothers. This year I am in the 1st grade.  In my free time, I love to play ball.  My favorite color is blue, and my favorite animal is the dog.  The food that I like to eat the most is black beans.  Currently, my family does not attend any church.

With much love and many blessings,

                                    Javier Santiago Gonzalez de Leon 

Translated by Edwina Lyons, Living Water Missionary