Jorge Daniel Otoy de Leon
Ref# DU2103

About Me
My name is Jorge Daniel Otoy de Leon. I'm a 14-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
July 11, 2005.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Dueñas

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

DU-2103

Dueñas, where your child lives, is a small farming village located at the foot of one of Guatemala's active volcanoes, Fuego (Fire).  The fertile ground around the village allows for the cultivation of roses and coffee, two of Guatemala's largest exports.  Most of the families in this area live in one or two room wooden or adobe houses with tin roofs.  Electricity is available to those who can afford it.  Running water is available - however, most homes do not have indoor plumbing.  Life in Dueñas is quiet.

Hello, my name is Jorge Daniel Otoy de Leon.  I was born on July 11, 2005, and I am 13 years old.  I attend the Duenas feeding program.  My father’s name is Eswin Rolando Otoy Gonzalez.  He normally works as a mason and is the one who is primarily responsible for our household expenses. My mother’s name is Dalia Medina de Leon Ojer and she is a housewife.  She also washes and irons clothes for other people and cleans houses in order to earn money because sometimes my father cannot find work.  The amount they earn is very little, and sometimes does not cover our expenses.  My father is always looking for any type of work that he can find so that he can provide for our family.  We live in our own house.  It is a one-room house with concrete block walls, a tile floor and a tin sheet roof.  We have a separate small kitchen, and we have electricity and water.  I have two brothers and one sister.  I am in 7th grade this year.  My favorite thing to do in my spare time is to play basketball.  My favorite color is blue, and my favorite animal is the lion.  The food I like to eat the most is pepian (a traditional Guatemalan dish).  My family attends a Christian church called “Iglesia de Dios Betezda”.

With much love and many blessings,

Jorge Daniel Otoy de Leon

Translated by Edwina Lyons, Living Water Missionary