Kimberly Dayana Hernandez Alvarenga
Ref# JT2480

About Me
My name is Kimberly Dayana Hernandez Alvarenga. I'm a 7-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 17, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

JT2480

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua.  It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade. Only two out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Kimberly Dayana Hernandez Alvarenga. I was born on April 17, 2012 and I am seven years old. I am in good health and I attend the Jocotenango feeding program.  My father’s name is Antolin Ines Hernandez Colaj. He works as a driver for the local municipality. My mother’s name is Alba Abigail Alvarenga Argumedo, she is a housewife and takes care of my siblings and me. We own our own home.  The house is made of tin sheet and has one room in which we all sleep. I also has a separate kitchen and a bathroom. We have water and electricity. I have four siblings, but only one sister and I live in the house with our parents. I walk about 25 minutes to get to the feeding program. We have one dog and two cats. I am in 1st grade this year. I like to sleep, play, sing, watch TV and to help my mother with the chores. My favorite color is pink, and my favorite animal is the zebra. The foods that I like to eat most are black beans, rice, and tacos. My family attends a Christian church.

 

With much love and many blessings,

Kimberly Dayana Hernandez Alvarenga

Translated by Edwina Lyons/Living Water Missionary