David Eduardo Morente Baten
Ref# PA1906

About Me
My name is David Eduardo Morente Baten. I'm a 5-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
June 16, 2014.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Pasojoc

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

PA1906

Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! My name is David Eduardo Morente Baten. I attend the Pasojoc feeding program. I was born on June 16th, 2014. I am four years old and I am in good health. Since I am still young, I am not attending school yet. In my free time, I like to play soccer and little car toys. My favorite color is green and my favorite animal is the chicken. I love to eat rice. I have one brother and two sisters. My father Manuel works as a day laborer but also travels to the coast around two or three months to pick coffee beans. Meanwhile, my mother Elena stays at home and takes care about us. We live in a rented adobe house with tin sheet roof. There are two rooms, a separate kitchen and a bathroom without electricity and running water. We get the water from a nearby river by using a hose. We have some domestic animals like chickens, pigs, dogs, one cat and one sheep. We do not attend any Church.

With much love and many blessings,

David Eduardo Morente Baten

Translated by: Mireya de Sandoval/ AAC Secretary