Jennifer Elizabeth De La Cruz Barillas
Ref# CH2462

About Me
My name is Jennifer Elizabeth De La Cruz Barillas. I'm 16 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 22, 2003.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Hello! Good afternoon! How are you? I hope you are in good health. I want to share with you a little about my family and me. I have two sisters and one brother. My brother is married and has two children. I ask for your prayers for my family’s health, especially for my father because he suffers from diabetes and he cannot work due because he lost his sight. He is not in medical treatment because we do not have the resources to buy his medicines. We have taken him to the health center but they only give him medical prescriptions and we do not have the money to buy them. My mother works as a maid and she washes clothes for other people. Thank God, my brother works as a day laborer and he helps my mother with the home expenses. I only attended 6th grade in 2016 and I did not continue with my studies due to our low economic resources. I sometimes work washing clothes for other people or I make tortillas.

Thank God, we are in good health except for my father. At home, I help with the chores at home and I make tortillas. In my free time, I watch TV or I take care of my nephews. My desire is that my father gets better. For Christmas, we prepare ¨tamales and ponche¨ (typical dish and hot fruit drink)), and we also burn firecrackers. At the moment, we do not attend a church because we do not have enough time and we have to take care of my father. If my family has money, they prepare a special lunch for my birthday. When we have difficult situations, we pray in my family. I ask for your prayers for all of my family. Thank you for supporting me through the feeding program because I can receive food twice a week. Take care of yourself. May God bless you!

In Jesus name,

Jennifer Elizabeth De La Cruz Barillas

Translated by: Esther Hernandez/AAC Secretary/Antigua