Luz Abril de la Cruz Garcia
Ref# ZA4568

About Me
My name is Luz Abril de la Cruz Garcia. I'm a 8-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
January 24, 2014.
Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley. The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe. Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small, specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers, and many other small-town tradesmen. It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area. Even with all of this, the poverty level is very high, and the children are very needy.

Hello! I hope you and your family are in good health and filled with God’s rich blessings. My name is Luz Abril de la Cruz Garcia. I live in a town called Zacualpa. I am 7 years old, and I was born on January 24, 2014. My father’s name is Marvin de la Cruz, and my mother’s name is Petrona Maribel Garcia Gutierrez. I have 1 brother and 1 sister. I attend school as a first grader. In my free time, I like to play with my little sister and cousin and ride my bicycle. My favorite colors are pink and purple, my favorite animal is a dog, and my favorite dish is fried shrimp. My mother gave the evangelism team my information over the phone because of COVID-19; they are avoiding as much physical contact as possible to keep everyone safe. It has been some years since my father left, but he does support us financially and keeps contact with me and my siblings. My mother does not have another partner to help support us. She is a hardworking housewife. We all live with my maternal grandparents and thankfully, they do not charge us rent. The house is located about a 20-minute walk from the feeding program. Our humble house is made of block walls, concrete roof, and granite floors. The house has 3 rooms, but my family only sleeps in 1. There is a separate kitchen. We have running water and electricity. The bathroom is connected to a cesspit. Our needs are groceries and clothes. As for my health, thank God I am healthy. I am a member of a Pentecostal church. I am thankful for the Lord’s love and mercy in my life.

With lots of love,

Luz Abril de la Cruz Garcia

Translated by: Kalyan Marroquin / Missionary Intern