Iker Ulises Martinez Martinez
Ref# NE2217

About Me
My name is Iker Ulises Martinez Martinez. I'm a 10-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
August 29, 2011.
Attends Program

Nueva Esperanza

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

My name is Iker Ulises, I am 9 years old and I live along with my parents and sister. I attend 3rd grade and I receive my assignments by WhatsApp to work at home. My mother takes my homework and gives it to my teacher every week at school. I do not like to study from home because I do not have my teacher´s explanation so I do not understand the lessons. My mother tries to help me to do my homework. My father earns a living by reselling medicines to supply our family expenses. My mother stays busy with the chores at home. My mother went to the market once a week during the severe restrictions in our country.

Let me tell you that the covid-19 pandemic affected my family´s economy since my father´s sales were doing badly and it made things harder at home. Fortunately, we received support from my school, and along with my father's struggles, we could go ahead little by little. We thank God who has never left us alone and is providing the necessities at home. We are deeply thankful to Living Water /Adopt A Child who was supporting us with grocery bags and it was a great help for my family. So, we want to give thanks to you, and LW staff thinking of children during the harder months of the pandemic.  We pray our Lord blesses you richly for all you have done for my family and me. I want to let you know that a member of the AAC team called my mother, Marcia Martinez by phone to get this updated information since the feeding program is still closed due to the pandemic. Unfortunately, my parents got sick with covid-19 and they were under quarantine. Thank God, they recovered and now they are stable. We attend New Hope Church on Sundays. I leave you for now. May God bless you!

Hugs with much love,

Iker Ulises Martinez Martinez

Translated by: Violeta Hernandez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua