Klavio Velillari
Ref# UMD0038

About Me
My name is Klavio Velillari. I'm a 14-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
August 20, 2007.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Upper Mokra

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Klavio Velillari. I am a 13 year old boy and my birthday is on August 20th. I am doing well and in good health. My favorite color is blue and my future dream is to be a cook. I like to have my own restaurant and serve to my client delicious and special meals. I attend the 8th grade at school and am doing well with the lessons. My favorite subject at school is Music. I like to sing and learn a musical instrument but we don’t have such classes in the village. Because of the Pandemic situation we are wearing masks and respect the distancing while we are at class. After school, I return home and ask if I can help my parents. We have a cow and a horse and I take them out in the fields to be feed. I spend my free time playing football with my friends or have short distance walks around the centre of the village. As we walk we chat and have fellowship with one another. My family and I live in Dunica. My father’s name is Adriatik and my mother’s name is Dhurata. I have two older sisters. My father and mother deal with agriculture and during the past year they have plated wheat, corn and vegetables. We have provided beans that we consume almost daily in our meals. We raise animals and have a cow, a horse. Keeping a cow, we provide milk and once a year my father sells its calf to gain a bit more of income. We use the horse to transport the products from the fields to our home and my father collects fire wood in the mountain. We have also got fruit trees around our gardens. Same as all families in the villages we are very poor and I am thankful to the sponsorship program for the food package that I have received every month. God bless you!

Dunica is one of the villages of Upper Mokra, It is located far in the mountains and is a very hard place to be reached without having a good vehicle. The infrastructure is totally missing and the people who live there are almost isolated during all winter. The majority of the people here make the living by working in agriculture as they own their land. They produce wheat, corn and other vegetables as beans, anions, tomatoes and peppers for consumption but very less as the land is not productive. In the same time, almost every family raises animals as cows and goats to benefit milk or horses, mules and donkeys to use for transportation. They need to transport the products from the fields that are away from home and in the same time the men go to collect fire wood in the mountains. They can’t offer to buy the fire wood that they consume.  The majority of the people who previously had the possibility to emigrate and raise enough income, have left the village and live in the towns but the other part who lives in the village face poverty and hardships of any kind. The team of Living Water Adopt a Child goes twice every week in Dunica to share the Good News of the Lord Jesus for the man, ladies and the children. There we have a Bible study for the men and ladies as well as Bible classes for teens and children. Once every month we deliver a food package to every child attending our meetings. Because of the Pandemic restriction rules, we are able to take in Bible classes the children above 12 but we are able to have the Bible study meetings for teens and adults.

Martin Rucolli

Translator at Adopt a Child Albania