Silvia Collaku
Ref# UMD0015

About Me
My name is Silvia Collaku. I'm 8 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
September 3, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Upper Mokra

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Silvia Collaku. I am an 8 years old girl and my birthday is on September 3rd. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is pink and my future dream is to be a doctor and be close to the people in need. I get together with my friends and cousins every afternoon, after I get off from school and we all play outside. When we meet we choose the games we like to play and usually they are simple as running races, hide and seek, jumping with ropes or using a ball to play with, etc. I attend the 3rd grade at school. I like studying and my favorite subject is Language. Because of the pandemic, we need to wear masks and keep the distancing while we are at school and this is a bit hard for us children who are so used to get together in groups and play. I am very happy that I will meet again with my class friends and take the lessons at school. I attend the Adopt a Child programme at the house that we meet. My friends and I attend every week the children’s Bible classes and there we enjoy praying, singing to the Lord and hearing the Bible stories that the teachers are telling to us. After the Bible lessons, we all play outside for a while and I enjoy very much the time I spend there. Once a month, I have received a package that contains groceries as oil, sugar, rice, flour, soaps, etc and I am thankful to the Adopt a Child for their support.

My family and I live in Dunica. My father’s name is Afrim and my mother’s name is Florenca. I have two sisters and their names are Mersiena and Esterina. In our family we keep a cow as well as a horse. Raising a cow, we benefit milk, butter and other products to consume and once a year, my father sells its calf and gains a bit more profit to buy more food or new clothes to us. As most of the people in Dunica we have a horse. My parents keep it to transport the products from the fields to our home or to collect wood in the mountain. This way, we don’t have to buy the wood we need to burn during the winter. My father is able to sell some of the carried wood too and gain a bit more income. The stock food that we need to feed the animals during the winter gets provided through the land and my parents constantly plant corn, alfalfa, or wheat. The land is not producing much and working in it is not beneficial. On spring my mother planted the vegetable garden and we have already collected the peppers, tomatoes, anions and beans that we consume as fresh products in our meals. Around our land and garden we have got a few fruits trees as whole nuts, plums, apples and pears. My parents gather the fruits and my mother makes composts and jams and preserves them in jars so that we can consume them during the winter. Same as all the people who live in Dunica, my family and I live in poverty and we are thankful to the Adopt a Child sponsorship programme for their help and support to us. God bless you!

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania