Juana Ester Jimon Gutierrez
Ref# ZA4523

About Me
My name is Juana Ester Jimon Gutierrez. I'm a 7-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 15, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

ZA4523

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Juana Ester Jimon Gutierrez.  I was born on April 15, 2012.  I am a healthy child, and I ride a bus for 15 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I do not have any brothers or sisters.  My father abandoned my mother before I was born.  My mother’s name is Iris and she works in a tortilleria (place where they make and sell tortillas).  She also washes clothes for other people in order to earn money for our expenses.  We live in the house with my grandfather.  It is one big room and a separate kitchen.  It is made of adobe with a tile roof and a dirt floor.  We grow corn and beans for our own consumption.  We also have some hens, pigs and dogs.  My family does not travel to the coast to work as many families do.  I am in 1st grade.  My favorite color is pink and my favorite animal is the bird.  The foods that I like best are apricots, apples and sausages.  In my free time, I like to play with my dolls and toy dishes.  My family attends an Assembly of God church.

With much love and many blessings,

Juana Ester Jimon Gutierrez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary