Maldina Nicol


Gender Female
Birth Date May 10, 2007
Age 11 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

CH4231

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world. Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen. The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare. Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors. Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value. Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Maldina Nicol Reynoso Ordonez. I was born on May 10, 2007 and I am 11 years old. I am in good health and I attend the Chixocol feeding program. My father’s name is Julian Reynoso Chumil. He is actually in the United States because he and my mother separated a few years ago. However, he communicates with us and helps with my expenses. My mother’s name is Isidora Ordonez Ventura and she is a housewife. She also raises some domestic animals to sell when we need extra money. My mother has actually established a relationship with another man. His name is Martin, and he is also in the United States. We live in my grandparent’s home. It has three rooms and a separate kitchen. The house is adobe with a tin roof. One part of the floor is concrete and the other is dirt. We have water and electricity. I have 2 brothers and 1 sister. I am 2nd.  grade this year. When I am not in school, I like to play with dolls. My favorite color is pink, and my favorite animal is the cat. The foods that I like to eat the most is fried chicken.  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Maldina Nicol Reynoso Ordonez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

$30.00

$360.00

$90.00