Maria Antonia & Jose Gerardo Alvarado / Garcia
Ref# WJT0001 (Couple)

About Me
My name is Maria Antonia & Jose Gerardo Alvarado / Garcia and I'm a -year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
June 19, 2019.
Sponsorship Type

Elderly

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Hello, my name is Maria Antonia, and this is my husband Jose Gerardo. 

We live in Jocotenango Guatemala and are attending the Liberty Church here in Jocotenango.  My husband was born in Antigua Guatemala, and I was born in nearby Escuintla.  Unfortunately, my husband never had the opportunity to go to school, and I only completed the 1st grade.

I am basically in good health.  The only problem that I have is that my feet hurt when I am standing or walking for any length of time.  This is a big problem for me because I collect recyclable materials such as plastics, glass and cardboard and sell them in order to have money for our household expenses.  I only earn about Q7 to Q10 each day (approximately $1-$1.50 each day).   My husband and I have 4 children; 2 sons and 2 daughters.  One of my daughters helps us a little bit with our expenses.  However, she is not able to help much because she has her own family to provide for. My husband, Jose, is not in very good health.  He suffers from diabetes.  Praise God, right now, we are controlling the diabetes with his diet.  However, because of the diabetes, he suffers from a lot of pain in his feet and legs and is barely able to walk.   Actually, he cannot take a real step.  He more or less shuffles his feet, so we have to be extremely careful that he does not fall.  We are in the process of trying to get him a wheelchair and hope to have one soon.  I go out very early in the mornings to search for recyclable materials, so I am able to leave him sleeping while I am out searching.

Our house is made of cement blocks with a tile roof and a concrete floor.  We have electricity and running water.  The house has 3 rooms and a separate kitchen, but we only use two of the rooms.  We do not have any domestic animals (chickens, etc.) because we do not have an area in which to keep them.   We walk to and from church, and even though we leave close to the church, it takes us about 20 minutes to get there because my husband can barely walk.  Even with all our problems, I know that God is in control and that He is watching over us and taking care of us.  My prayer is that He will continue to care for us.  Also, I pray that He will take care of and provide a good life for our children and their families.

Love and blessings,

Maria Antonia & Jose Gerardo

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

NOTE: Exact age and birth date are unknown at this time pending further information.