Martin Evando Garcia Chingo
Ref# CA1664

About Me
My name is Martin Evando Garcia Chingo and I'm a 7-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
August 19, 2011.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chuchuc√°

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

CA1664

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.

Hello! My name is Martin Evando Garcia Chingo. I was born on August 9, 2011. I am seven years old. I attend the Chuchuca feeding program. My father’s name is Venancio Garcia Gutierrez, and my mother’s name is Maria Chingo Gomez. I attend a Catholic church. I am in the first grade. I like to play football in my free time. My favorite food is chicken soap. My favorite animal is the goose and my favorite color is red. I like pineapple. I am in good health. My mother takes care of our home. My father is a farmer and sometimes he sells what we grow. We do not go to the coast to work because my father is on the worship team at church. We live in my grandparents’ home. They gave us a room and we share the kitchen. Our home is made of adobe with a tile roof and cement floor. We have electricity and water. My older sister takes me to the feeding program.

Blessings,

Martin Evando Garcia Chingo

Translated by Stephen Macoy, Living Water Missionary