Josue Agustin Luis Gutierrez
Ref# CH4192

About Me
My name is Josue Agustin Luis Gutierrez. I'm a 3-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 23, 2015.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

CH4192

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world. Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen. The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks. In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare. Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors. Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value. Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Josue Agustin Luis Gutierrez. I was born on October 23, 2015 and I am 3 years old.  I am in good health, and I attend the Chixocol feeding program. My father’s name is Alberto Luis Aguilar. He works as a mason’s helper and does not travel to the coast for the coffee harvest. My mother’s name is Maria Gutierrez Garcia and she is a housewife. She also raises domestic animals that she sells to make extra money for the household expenses when needed. We own our home.  It has two rooms and a separate kitchen. It has a tin roof and concrete floor. We have our own water and electricity. I have 2 sisters and they are the ones who take me to the feeding program. I do not go to school yet because I am still young. I love to play toy cars. My favorite color is white, and my favorite animals are chickens. The foods that I like to eat the most are spaghetti and bananas. My family attends a catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Josue Agustin Luis Gutierrez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary