Nanci Paola Pu Barrera
Ref# JT2516

About Me
My name is Nanci Paola Pu Barrera. I'm a 9-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
January 11, 2010.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

JT2516 

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade. Only two out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Nanci Paola Pu Barrera. I was born on January 11, 2010 and I am 9 years old. I am in good health and I attend the Jocotenango feeding program. My father’s name is Armando Pu Ixcotoyac, and he works selling nuts in the streets of different areas such as Antigua, Guatemala City, Panajachel and Peten. My mother’s name is Marta Barrera Tayum and she works by doing washing and ironing for other people. My family originally lived in the mountains of Quiche, Guatemala. We rent one room in a building, and we actually cook in the hall. Our house is made of cement block with a tin roof and cement floor. We live on the second level of the building. We have electricity and water. I walk for about 20 minutes to get to the feeding program. I have 1 brother and 3 sisters. I have never gone to school. My favorite thing to do is to play with my dolls and toy dishes. My favorite color is light blue, and my favorite animal is the rabbit. The food that I like to eat the most is fried chicken.  Currently, my family does not attend a church. 

 

With much love and many blessings,

Nanci Paola Pu Barrera

Translated by Edwina Lyons/Living Water Missionary