Cesar Ovaldo Marroquin Perez
Ref# JT2508

About Me
My name is Cesar Ovaldo Marroquin Perez. I'm a 15-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
August 5, 2004.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

JT2508

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade. Only two out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Cesar Ovaldo Marroquin Perez. I was born on August 5, 2004 and I am 14 years old. I attend the Jocotenango feeding program. My father’s name is Nicolas Marroquin Aguilar and he works as a farmer at ¨La Salinas Farm¨. My mother’s name is Gladis Amanda Perez Valenzuela and she is a housewife. She dedicates her time to taking care of my siblings and me. My oldest sister works as a babysitter for another family and contributes for the expenses. We own our home.  It has two rooms made of tin with a tin roof and cement floor. We have another small place where we cook our food. We have electricity and water. We also have a separate bathroom. I walk about 30 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have 3 brothers and 2 sisters. I was in 6th grade last year. I did not have the desire to continue with my studies this year. In my free time, I love to play soccer. My favorite color is red. My favorite food is Pepian (a traditional Guatemalan dish). My family attends a church called “New Life in Christ”.

 

With much love and many blessings,

Cesar Ovaldo Marroquin Perez

Translated by Edwina Lyons/Living Water Missionary