Andrea Johanna Alquijay Garcia
Ref# JT2485

About Me
My name is Andrea Johanna Alquijay Garcia. I'm a 15-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
January 10, 2004.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

JT2485

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua.  It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade. Only two out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Andrea Johanna Alquijay Garcia. I was born on January 10, 2004 and I am 15 years old. I attend the Jocotenango feeding program. My father’s name is Pulino Alquijay Valle and he is 65 years old, he no longer works. He has problems with alcoholism, so he does not help my family economically. This is a very sad and difficult situation for my family. My mother’s name is Maria Victoria Garcia Alvarez. She works in a tortilleria (a place where they make tortillas). Two of my brothers also work to help with the household expenses. We own our home. It has 3 rooms and is made of cement block and tin. The roof is tin, and the floor is cement. We have electricity and water. I have 3 brothers and 1 sister.  I am in 8th grade this year. In my free time, I like to read, draw and to watch television. My favorite color is green, and my favorite animals are hummingbirds. My favorite food is pepian (a traditional Guatemalan dish). My family attends a catholic church. 

 

With much love and many blessings,

Andrea Johana Alquijay Garcia

Translated by Edwina Lyons/Living Water Missionary