Jason Alberto Morente Luis
Ref# PA1786

About Me
My name is Jason Alberto Morente Luis. I'm a 11-year-old.

My birthday is
September 20, 2011.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

It is a pleasure to greet you and I hope you are well. I am Jason Alberto Morente Luis, and I am 10 years old. I am a 3rd grader, and I am attending face-to-face classes twice a week for two hours; I deliver my homework on the days I go to study. This study method is affecting me because I am not learning enough. In my free time I help to do some chores at home. What I missed the most while the feeding program was closed was the delicious food. Thankfully it is open again, and I walk 30 minutes to be there. Today I want to thank you for the grocery parcels we received because they were a great blessing for us.

Thankfully, my family and I are in good health; my father covers our needs. He works as a day laborer with others, and he sometimes takes my mother, siblings, and me to the coast to pick coffee beans for two months to improve our incomes. My mother works at home, and she also raises some domestic animals to help my father with our expenses. Our economy has been affected because of the pandemic because there is not much work, and things are more expensive. It is why some of our needs are groceries, clothes, shoes, tin sheets, and a wardrobe. We like to spend time as a family, and our special moment is every lunch because we eat together and talk.  We live in our own one-room house that is made of adobe walls, tin sheets roof, and dirt floor; we have a separated kitchen to prepare our food, a solar panel to get our electricity and the water we use, we take it from the house of one of our neighbors with a hose. In the same piece of land, live the other children of my father that he had with his first wife. They have their own house, but my father is responsible for them. He helps them economically and goes to look after them. Sadly, our roof is in bad condition because the tin sheets are old. Now, we are members of King of Centuries Church, and we walk 35 minutes to get there. It was sad when churches were closed due to the pandemic because we could not congregate. As a family, we seldom celebrate Christmas because of our lack of economic resources. It was so nice to share with you some news about my family and me; I want you to know that my father gave all this information by phone to one of the Evangelism teachers. May God bless you, and I hope to hear from you soon.

Lots of Love,

Jason Alberto Morente Luis

Translated by Luisa Reyes/ A-A-C Secretary/Antigua