Jennifer Paola Callejas
Ref# DU1416

About Me
My name is Jennifer Paola Callejas. I'm 12 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
July 11, 2007.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Dueñas

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Hello! I send you a cordial greeting from the bottom of my heart. I hope you are in good health. I want to share with you a little about my family and me. I live with my parents. I have four brothers and three sisters. Thank God, we all are in good health. My father works by collecting bottles, cardboard and cans to sell to a recycler in our town. My mother works by picking coffee beans in a farm named ¨San Sebastian¨. My siblings attend school at night because they help my father to work during the day. My niece who is fifteen years old takes us to the LW clinic and the doctor gives us vitamins.

I am in the fourth grade at school and I am not repeating my grade. My favorite subjects are mathematics, natural science and computer class. I like mathematics because I like to add and subtract. I do not work. I only dedicate my time to my studies. We do not go out to visit places due to our low economic resources. I want to tell you a little about my family situation. I live with my father and mother, but my father has other two wives who are the older daughters of my mother. When my mother established a relationship with my father she had two daughters, and when they grew up my father took them as his wives. We have three bedrooms. My father and his wives sleep in one room, my brothers sleep in another room, my sisters and I sleep in another room. We are many members in the family and for that reason we have many needs, and we have to wait our turns to buy something. For Christmas, my mother prepared baked chicken, ¨tamales and ponche¨ (typical dish and hot fruit drink). My desire is to be a teacher because I would like to teach many children about different subjects. In my free time, I like to play soccer and dolls with my nieces and nephews. We do not attend a church because my parents do not take us. I would like to attend a church soon. I ask for your prayers for my family. In total there 22 people who are living at home. My siblings have to work and help my family economically. I say goodbye to you for now. I send you a strong hug. May God bless you!

In Jesus name,

Jennifer Paola Callejas

Translated by: Esther Hernandez/AAC Secretary/Antigua