Isabel Calachij Garcia
Ref# CA1182

About Me
My name is Isabel Calachij Garcia. I'm a 13-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
July 20, 2006.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chuchucá

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Dear Padrinos

Hello dearest godparents! How are you? My family and I hope that you and your family are doing well and I wish you God’s blessings richly in all activities that you do. I am so glad to write you this letter to share with you some news about my family and me. I am living with my parents, my father’s name is Adan and he works as a good farmer, he grows tomatoes to sell them in the market, and in addition he farms the land for other people, however because of the lack of money my father has to go to the coast to cut sugar cane or pick coffee beans at the end of the year. My mother’s name is Rogelia and she works hard with the chores at home and she takes care of us with much love too. I am the older daughter, so I go to the coast to work in the field too, I help my grandmother there, my grandmother’s name is Manuela, she lives separate from us, but when she and my cousin travel to the coast I always go with them to pick coffee beans. My mother and my siblings do not go to that place.

Thank God my whole family is healthy, sadly I was not able to attend school this year, because we returned from the coast in the middle of the school year, and I could not enroll at school. I started to attend the first grade last year but after some months I abandoned it. At the moment, I help my mother with the household chores, in addition I look after our three cows, and sometimes my brothers go with me. My family and I enjoy celebrating Christmas day, because we love eating the delicious meal called “tamales” a traditional food, we drink hot fruit punch and we burn firecrackers, in addition we are accustomed to get together with my relatives to share a special moment and we have a good time. When I grow up I would like to become a good teacher to share my knowledge with the children. In addition I love drawing and painting. At the moment, I cannot write and read well because I am still in first grade but I am looking forward to learning. My favorite sport is football and I like to play other games, like tag. Thankfully my family and I continue attending Assembly of God Church, where I love singing praises and listening to God’s Word. I want to thank you for your support, because it has been a great blessing in my life and for family too, and we are not able to repay you for all that you have done for me, but I pray that God pours out many blessings upon you. I want to ask you to pray for my family too. I hope to meet you in person someday. Take care of yourselves.

Lots of love

Yours sponsored child,

Isabel Calachij Garcia

Translated by: Mery Martin / AAC Secretary