Sandra de la Cruz Jimon
Ref# PA2063

About Me
My name is Sandra de la Cruz Jimon. I'm a 14-year-old.

My birthday is
June 13, 2009.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiche Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello, my name is Sandra de la Cruz Jimon. I was born on June 13, 2009, and I am 13 years old. I am a healthy boy, and I am in repeating 2nd grade at school this year. I enjoy playing with my balls at home. I love pink and I like doves. My favorite food is black beans and rice. I have two brothers and one sister. I live about one hour away from the feeding program; my younger siblings are part of the program too. We are attending Prince of Peace Church. I am under the care of my mother and grandparents. My biological father abandoned us about three years ago and did not recognize me legally which is why I only have my mother’s last names.  He does not support us with household expenses. My mother’s name is Juana de la Cruz Jimon. She is a single mother and works as a day laborer along with my grandfather weaving Guatemalan typical bags. We live in our grandparent’s house which has two rooms and one kitchen. The house is made of adobe, tin sheet roof and dirt floor. We have electricity and running water. This is my personal information, and I hope you find it interesting.

Blessings and hugs!

Sandra de la Cruz Jimon.

Translated by:  Gladys Chavez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua