Makarius Isaac Poron Lara
Ref# DU2396

About Me
My name is Makarius Isaac Poron Lara. I'm a 7-year-old.

My birthday is
June 16, 2015.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Dueñas, where your child lives, is a small farming village located at the foot of one of Guatemala's active volcanoes, Fuego (Fire). The fertile ground around the village allows for the cultivation of roses and coffee, two of Guatemala's largest exports.  Most of the families in this area live in one or two room wooden or adobe houses with tin roofs.  Electricity is available to those who can afford it.  Running water is available - however, most homes do not have indoor plumbing.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider education of value.  Life in Dueñas is quiet and sometimes difficult.

My name is Makarius Isaac Poron Lara, and I am seven years old. I was born on June 16, 2015. I am in good health. I have one brother. I am not attending school yet. I like to play marbles and spinning tops. My favorite color is green, and I like dogs. I love to eat noodles. My father works in a plant nursery, and he is in the area where they grow easter flowers. He helps my mom to cover our needs, but he has alcohol problems. My mother also works in a plant nursery, and she contributes with the home expenses. We live in my grandparent´s house, and it is made of block walls, cement roof and ceramic floor. We have one room, and we cook outside. We share the house with my grandparents. We have running water and electricity; my parents pay some money for these services to my grandparents. One of our needs is a bed. I walk about fifteen minutes to attend the feeding program.

From the bottom of my heart,

Makarius Isaac Poron Lara

Translated by: Esther Hernández, AAC Secretary/Antigua