Amelia Siomara Hernandez Larios
Ref# TU2992

About Me
My name is Amelia Siomara Hernandez Larios. I'm a 6-year-old.

My birthday is
October 19, 2016.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Tunaja is a very primitive area of the state of Quiche, Guatemala. The inhabitants are Quiche Mayans who trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. The prevalent language is the Mayan dialect - Quiche. The people are either farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors. Very little money ever changes hands as they use a barter system. Public education is available - however, most families cannot afford it. Electricity and running water are not available in most of the area. Life in Tunaja is extremely difficult.

It is a great pleasure to say hello to you through this letter. I hope you are receiving many blessings from God. My name is Amelia Siomara Hernandez Larios, and I am a happy 5-year-old girl. I am not in school yet because of my young age. In my free time, I like to play with my dolls at home. My favorite color is pink, my favorite animal is a chicken, and my favorite food is fried chicken.

Only one of my biological parents live with me. My father abandoned us 5 years ago, but he does send me money to help economically. I also have a stepfather who works as a farmer and supports us economically. My mother is a hardworking housewife. Additionally, I have no siblings. My family is healthy, but I have a hernia in my stomach. I have had a doctor look at me, but I have not been properly examined because of my young age. My mother will take me to see a doctor soon though. Also, we attend Full Gospel Church. I live in a village called Tunaja, and it takes me 30 minutes total on a bus and then walking to arrive to the feeding center. My humble house has walls made of block, the roof is made of tin sheet, and the floor is made of cement. There are two rooms that we use and a separate kitchen. We do not have running water nor electricity in our home. To obtain water, our grandmother gives us some to use. Thankfully, we do not have to pay for the water. To obtain electricity, we have a neighbor that lets us use theirs. We split the cost of the electricity in half with them. The house is owned by my stepfather. We have no animals that we take care of at home. Our greatest need is corn. May God continue blessing you!

The Living Waters Evangelism Team is speaking to families in Quiche by phone call. They spoke to my mother to receive information pertaining to me.

Lots of hugs,

Amelia Siomara Hernandez Larios

Translated by: Kalyan Marroquin / AAC Missionary Intern