Ana Patricia Ruiz Xon
Ref# CH4314

About Me
My name is Ana Patricia Ruiz Xon. I'm a 6-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
September 1, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Ana Patricia Ruiz Xon.  I was born on September 1, 2012.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about an hour to get to the feeding program.   Sometimes, my mother pays for us to take the bus to the program and we travel only 15 minutes.  I have one brother and three sisters.  My father’s name is Tomas and he works as a farmer.  He grows corn and beans for our own consumption.  He also works as a day laborer doing whatever type of work he can find.  My mother’s name is Tomasa and she takes care of our home.  She also raises hens that she sells when we have a need.  We own the house in which we live.  It has two rooms and a kitchen.  We have water and electricity.  The house is adobe with a tin roof and dirt floor.  The kitchen is made of wood planks with a tin roof and dirt floor.  I am in kindergarten, and in my free time, I like to play with my dolls.  My favorite color is purple and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods I like best are melon and noodles.  My family attends Prince of Peace Church.

With much love and many blessings,

Ana Patricia Ruiz Xon

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary