Iker Mario Jason Rosales Montenegro

About Me
My name is Iker Mario Jason and I'm a 13-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
February 6, 2006.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Nueva Esperanza

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

NE2470

Zona 5, where your child lives, is located in a slum area of Guatemala City. An extremely poor area, our program is squeezed in among the shanty dwellings built over an old city dump. Many houses in this area are without toilets or running water and are assembled with scrap wood, sheet metal, and cardboard. Zone 5 is considered one of the most dangerous areas of Guatemala City. It is controlled by gangs and drug pushers. Robberies and murders are common in this area. Public education is available - however, many cannot afford it. Life in Zone 5 is very difficult.

Hello! My name is Iker Mario Jason Rosales Montenegro. I was born on February 6, 2006 and I am 13 years old. I am in good health and I attend the Zone 5 feeding program. My father’s name is Marco Tulio Rosales, but unfortunately, he abandoned us many years ago and we have never heard from him. My mother’s name is Eva Esperanza Montenegro Mendez and she works as a cashier in the public bathrooms. She has a new husband and she lives with him 8 years ago. His name is Mayk Alexsander Urizar Soto, he works assembling stages, sets for concerts and other events. We rent 2 medium size rooms in which we live.  They are made of wood and tin sheet metal with a tin roof and a cement floor. We have running water and electricity, but they are not included in the rent. We pay for those separately. I have one brother and one sister. I am in 7th grade this year, and when I am not in school, I enjoy playing ball, drawing and working puzzles. My favorite color is blue, and my favorite animal is the rabbit. The foods that I like to eat the most are fried chicken and stew chicken. My family attends a Church.

With much love and many blessings,

Iker Mario Jason Rosales Montenegro

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary