Emilia & Josue Raimundo


Gender Female
Birth Date May 25, 1954
Age 64 years old
Sponsorship Type
Elderly
Attends Program
Jocotenango
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Hello, my name is Emilia Roman, and this is my son Josue. 

We live in Jocotenango, and we have to walk about 15 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I was born in the mountains of Quiche and I am 64 years old.  I have four children.  My son, Josue and three daughters.  My son was born here Jocotenango, and he is 42 years old.  We attend a catholic church here in Jocotenango.  Sadly, I did not have the opportunity to attend school when I was young, so I cannot write and can only read numbers and a few letters of the alphabet.  I have high blood pressure, and I take medicine to control it.  My son was born with Down’s Syndrome.  Right now, he is suffering from a problem with his skin, and I do not have the resources to take him to the doctor.  He is also having a problem with his dental roots and needs to see a dentist. 

To earn money for our expenses, I collect recyclable items such as plastics, glass and cardboard.  I do laundry for others to earn money.  I also buy and sell second-hand clothes.  We rent the house in which we live.  I pay Q200 each month (approximately $27 per month).  Sometimes, one of my daughters helps us by giving us food, and one of our neighbors also helps us when she can. We have electricity and running water.  I pay for our water, but a neighbor provides our electricity.  I do not have to pay her cash for this service.  I only give her the recyclable plastics that I collect.  The house is made of wood with a tin roof and a cement floor.  It is only one room.  We do not have a kitchen.  We cook outdoors.  My son and I have beds, but they are in terrible shape.  I am asking God to provide us with better beds and with the resources that I need to take my son for medical and dental treatment.

Love and blessings,

Emilia Roman & Josue

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

 

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

$30.00

$360.00

$90.00