Diego Ismael Chacon Roman
Ref# NE2409

About Me
My name is Diego Ismael Chacon Roman. I'm a 10-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
March 5, 2009.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Nueva Esperanza

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

NE2409

Zona 5, where your child lives, is located in a slum area of Guatemala City. An extremely poor area, our program is squeezed in among the shanty dwellings built over an old city dump. Many houses in this area are without toilets or running water and are assembled with scrap wood, sheet metal, and cardboard. Zone 5 is considered one of the most dangerous areas of Guatemala City. It is controlled by gangs and drug pushers. Robberies and murders are common in this area. Public education is available - however, many cannot afford it. Life in Zone 5 is very difficult.

Hello! My name is Diego Ismael Chacon Roman. I was born on March 5, 2009 and I am ten years old. I am in good health and I attend the Zone 5 feeding program. My father’s name is Juan Dionicio Chacon Rodriguez and he works as a gas delivery man. My mother’s name is Etna Elizabeth Roman Lorenzana and she is a housewife. We own the house in which we live. It is made of cement block with a tin roof and a granite tile floor. We live in two rooms and one of them has our cook stove in it. My grandmother lives with us, but she has her own room. We have electricity and running water. I have one sister named Katherine. I am in 4th grade this year, and when I am not in school, I spend my playing tag, hide and seek, and with my ball. My favorite color is red, and my favorite animal is the lion. The food that I like to eat the most is pizza. Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Diego Ismael Chacon Roman

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary