Carlos Enrique Chamorro Figueroa
Ref# JT2495

About Me
My name is Carlos Enrique Chamorro Figueroa. I'm a 8-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 6, 2010.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

JT2495

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade. Only two out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Carlos Enrique Chamorro Figueroa. I was born on October 6, 2010 and I am 8 years old. I am in good health and I attend the Jocotenango feeding program. My father’s name is Abner Enrique Chamorro Golon and he is a carpenter. He works with his cousin who is also a carpenter. Unfortunately, my father has an addiction and it is the cigarette. My mother’s name is Lilian Maricela Figueroa Gil. She does not have a permanent job, but she works washing clothes for our relatives in order to help with the household expenses. In spite of my mother eyes problems she always support us. We actually live in the house with my grandmother and four of her other children. The house has 6 rooms, a kitchen and a separate bathroom. Six families actually live in the house. Each family has their own room. Our room has a stove, so we can cook our own meals. The bills for the electricity and water are shared by all the families. The house is actually 2 levels. The first level the roof is built in such a way that an additional floor could be added in the future and the second level has a tin roof. The floor in the first level is granite and the floor in the second level is concrete. We have 4 dogs as pets. We live in San Lorenzo (it is a located approximately 20 minutes from Jocotenango), but we spend a lot of our time in Jocotenango where lives our father’s cousin. Her house is about a 10-minute walk to the feeding program. I have only 1 sister. I am in 2nd grade this year. My favorite things to do are to play soccer and to play with my toy cars. My favorite color is blue, and my favorite animal is the lion. The food that I like the most is ¨pepian¨ (a traditional Guatemalan dish). My family attends a church called House of Prayer. 

 

With much love and many blessings,

Carlos Enrique Chamorro Figueroa

Translated by Edwina Lyons/Living Water Missionary