Melody Sarahi Gabriel Yapan
Ref# DU2115

About Me
My name is Melody Sarahi Gabriel Yapan. I'm a 11-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 13, 2008.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Dueñas

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

DU-2115

Dueñas, where your child lives, is a small farming village located at the foot of one of Guatemala's active volcanoes, Fuego (Fire).  The fertile ground around the village allows for the cultivation of roses and coffee, two of Guatemala's largest exports.  Most of the families in this area live in one or two room wooden or adobe houses with tin roofs.  Electricity is available to those who can afford it.  Running water is available - however, most homes do not have indoor plumbing.  Life in Dueñas is quiet.

Hello, my name is Melody Sarahi Gabriel Yapan.  I was born on May 13, 2008 and I am 10 years old.  I attend the Duenas feeding program. My mother’s name is Ingrid Marleny Yapan Garcia.  She does not work outside our home.  She is a housewife and is the one who takes care of us.  My father’s name is Jorge Franciso Gabriel Cali.  He works in a jewelry shop in Antigua.  We live on a piece of land that my grandmother gave to my father, but we do not legally own the land.  Our house is made of cement blocks with a tin sheet roof and has two rooms.  The floor is part concrete and part ceramic tile.  We have water and electricity.  We live about three blocks from the feeding program.  Please pray for my family as my grandfather has cancer and is very weak. Fortunately, he is under a medical treatment in the Guatemala social security institute. This makes me very sad.  All of my family helps to take care of him.  I am in the fifth grade this year.  I only have one sister. My favorite color is lilac, and my favorite animal is the peacock.  My favorite food is pasta.  My family attends a Christian church called “Dios de Amor” (God is love).

With much love and many blessings,

                                    Melody Sarahi Gabriel Yapan

Translated by Edwina Lyons, Living Water Missionary