Melvin Ebando Cux Calachij
Ref# CA1655

About Me
My name is Melvin Ebando Cux Calachij. I'm a 5-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
January 30, 2014.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chuchucá

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

CA1655

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.

Hello! My name is Melvin Ebando Cux Calachij. I was born on January 30, 2014. I am five years old. I attend the Chuchuca feeding program. My father’s name is Daniel Cux Gomez and my mother’s name is Estela Calachij Garcia. I attend Assembly of God Church. I am not in school yet due to my age. In my free time, I like to play football. I am in good health. My favorite color is green. My favorite animal is the turkey. My favorite food is tortilla eggs with black beans. My favorite fruit is a watermelon. My father works as a farmer. He grows peas, corn, squash, and other vegetables. We grow most of it to sell and the rest we use ourselves. My mother takes care of our home. My family lives in my grandparents’ home. We share the bills. Our home has three bedrooms and a separate kitchen. Our home is made of block and our roof is built in such a way that we can add an additional floor in the future. Our floor is made of cement. We have electricity and water at home. My mother raises chickens and turkeys to sell. I come to the feeding program with my mother.

Blessings,

Melvin Ebando Cux Calachij

Translated by Stephen Macoy, Living Water Missionary