Walter Romeo Luis Huarcas
Ref# CC1654

About Me
My name is Walter Romeo Luis Huarcas. I'm a 5-year-old.

My birthday is
May 8, 2018.
Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Cuatro Caminos "four roads", where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Cuatro Caminos is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops. The Quiché Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! It is a pleasure to greet you by this means and share with you something about my family and me. My name is Walter Romeo Luis Huarcas. I was born on May 8, 2018, so I am 5 years old. I am not studying this year because I am still too young for it; I like to play with toy cars, my favorite color is blue, I like doves, and what I enjoy eating the most are noodles. Thankfully, we are in good health. My father’s name is Julio Luis Ajqui; he has been in the United Sates for the past three years. He works as a cook in a restaurant, and he keeps in touch with us and sends us money to cover our needs. My mother’s name is Candelaria Huarcas Xorxe; she is a housewife, does the chores and takes care of my sister and me. As a family, we are not attending any church yet.

We live in our own one-room house, that is made of adobe walls with a tin sheet roof and dirt floor. We have a separate kitchen. We do not have running water or electricity, so we use candles at night, and we carry water from a river for our use. At home, we have hens and a pig. Some of our basic needs are groceries, so please pray for us to have the necessities every day. It is a great blessing for me to be part of the feeding program. I walk 20 minutes to arrive and enjoy the delicious meals they give me. I want you to know that my aunt, Florinda Rodriguez Morente de Luis, came to register me, and she gave this information to the Evangelism team. May God bless you, and I will be waiting to hear from you soon.


With much Love,

Walter Romeo Luis Huarcas


Translated by: Luisa Reyes /A-A-C Secretary/ Guatemala