Yulsy Marleny Gutierrez de la Cruz
Ref# PT0100

About Me
My name is Yulsy Marleny Gutierrez de la Cruz. I'm a 4-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
March 20, 2017.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

PT0100

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows, and chickens.

Hello! I am Yulsy Marleny Gutierrez de la Cruz. I was born on March 20, 2017 and I am 4 years old. By the grace of God, I am in good health and my family is too. I walk about 10 minutes to get to Pasojoc III feeding program, but if I want to go to Pasojoc I walk for one hour. I attend with my other siblings who are already registered in the program. Since I am still too young, I am not attending school. I enjoy playing dolls in my spare time. My favorite color is blue, and my favorite animal is the rabbit. My favorite meal is fried chicken. I have three brothers and five sisters. My father´s name is Tomas Gutierrez Ventura. He earns a living as a construction helper to support our family. My mother´s name is Gregoria de la Cruz Luis. She is a housewife, but she also has a small business; she sales “granizadas” (shaved ice mixed with fruit flavors and chop fruit). We do not travel to work on the coast as other families do. We raise cows, pigs, hens and turkeys. We own the house in which we live. We have 7 rooms and a separated kitchen. Only 2 rooms are made of blocks and a tin sheet roof. The other rooms are made of adobe with a tin sheet roof and dirt floor. We have running water and electricity. We attend Christ Source of Life Church. May God bless you!

Kisses, hugs and much love,

Yulsy Marleny Gutierrez de la Cruz

Translated by: Violeta Hernandez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua