Dilan Josue Veliz Ferres
Ref# NE2427

About Me
My name is Dilan Josue Veliz Ferres. I'm a 8-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
August 26, 2011.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Nueva Esperanza

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

NE2427

Zona 5, where your child lives, is located in a slum area of Guatemala City. An extremely poor area, our program is squeezed in among the shanty dwellings built over an old city dump. Many houses in this area are without toilets or running water and are assembled with scrap wood, sheet metal, and cardboard. Zone 5 is considered one of the most dangerous areas of Guatemala City. It is controlled by gangs and drug pushers.  Robberies and murders are common in this area. Public education is available - however, many cannot afford it. Life in Zone 5 is very difficult.

Hello! My name is Dilan Josue Veliz Ferres. I was born on August 26, 2011 and I am 7 years old. My father’s name is Santiago Alexander Veliz Garcia, but he abandoned my mother when I was a few months old. My mother’s name is Samia Suavi Ferres Bautista, but sadly, she also abandoned us. She went to the United States years ago. She has another family now, so she does not help with our expenses. I have a twin brother, and we live with my aunt and uncle. We have been living with them since we were three years old. My aunt is a housewife and takes care of us. My uncle works as a maintenance man at a local business. I have two cousins. We own the house in which we live. It has three rooms, and our kitchen is in one of the rooms. The house is made of adobe with a tin roof and a granite floor. We have electricity and running water.  I am in 1st grade this year, and when I am not in school, I spend my time playing with ball or playing on the swings or the monkey bars. My favorite color is blue, and my favorite animal is the lion. The food that I like to eat the most is fried eggs. My family attends a church.

With much love and many blessings,

Dilan Josue Veliz Ferres

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary