Juana


Gender Female
Birth Date Feb 22, 2013
Age 6 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chuchuc√°
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

CA1665

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.

Hello! My name is Juana Luis. I was born on February 22, 2013. I am six years old. I attend the Chuchuca feeding program. Sadly, my father did not recognize me and has passed away. My mother’s name is Paulina Luis De La Cruz. I have three brothers and one sister. I attend an evangelical church. I do not attend school yet because I am young. I like to play with dolls. My favorite color is purple and my favorite animal is a dove. My favorite food is fried chicken and my favorite fruit is watermelon. I am in good health. My mother is very sick. She has pain in her legs and they are swollen. She cannot walk and she does not work. My older brothers work in the Guatemala. They work in stores and help pay our bills with the money that they earn. My grandmother lives with us. She has chickens that she raises to sell. Our home is made of wood and sheet metal walls. The roof is made of sheet metal. We have one room house and a kitchen. We do not have electricity and water. We get water from a natural water spring that our neighbor has given us permission to use. We use candles and lanterns for lights. My grandmother takes me to the feeding program.

Blessings,

Juana Luis

Translated by Stephen Macoy, Living Water Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

$30.00

$360.00

$90.00