Sandra Elizabeth


Gender Female
Birth Date May 18, 2012
Age 6 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Pasojoc
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

PA1925

Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello, my name is Sandra Elizabeth Zepet Tzoy.  I was born on May 18, 2012 and I am six years old.  I am in good health and I attend the Pasojoc feeding program.  My father’s name is Jose and he is a farmer.  My mother’s name is Maria and she is a housewife.  My family travels to the coast at the end of the year to work during the coffee harvest.  We own the home in which we live.  It is adobe with a tin roof and dirt floor. We have electricity, but we do not have running water.  We carry our water from the river.  We have some domestic animals: goats, cows, sheep, pigs, chickens and turkeys.  I have one brother and one sister.  My mother takes me to the feeding program.  I do not go to school yet because I am still small.  I spend my time playing with my dolls.  My favorite color is green, and my favorite animal is the rabbit.  The foods that I like to eat the most are watermelon and soup.  My family attends a Catholic Church. 

 

With much love and many blessings,

Sandra Elizabeth Zepet Tzoy

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

$30.00

$360.00

$90.00