Yoselin del Rosario Ordonez Lara
Ref# DU2122

About Me
My name is Yoselin del Rosario Ordonez Lara. I'm a 10-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
July 10, 2009.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Dueñas

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

DU-2122

Dueñas, where your child lives, is a small farming village located at the foot of one of Guatemala's active volcanoes, Fuego (Fire).  The fertile ground around the village allows for the cultivation of roses and coffee, two of Guatemala's largest exports.  Most of the families in this area live in one or two room wooden or adobe houses with tin roofs.  Electricity is available to those who can afford it.  Running water is available - however, most homes do not have indoor plumbing.  Life in Dueñas is quiet.

Hello, my name is Yoselin del Rosario Ordonez Lara.  I was born on July 10, 2009 and I am 9 years old.  I attend the Duenas feeding program.  My father’s name is Jose Luis Ordonez Ojer and he is a farmer.  My mother’s name is Maria del Rosario Lara Yapan.  She does not work outside the home.  She takes care of my siblings and me and our house.  I have one brother and one stepbrother, who is son of my father.  We own our home.  It is a one room house with a separate kitchen and a separate bathroom.  The house is made of drywall with a tin sheet roof and cement floor.  We have water, but we do not have electricity.  We use candles for light. I walk about 30 minutes to get to the program.  I am in first grade this year.  My favorite thing to do in my spare time is to play with my dolls.  My favorite color is pink, and my favorite animal is the dog.  I love to eat vegetables.  My family attends a Christian church.

With much love and many blessings,          

Yoselin del Rosario Ordonez Lara

Translated by Edwina Lyons, Living Water Missionary