Jennifer Paola Figueroa Villatoro
Ref# JT2505

About Me
My name is Jennifer Paola Figueroa Villatoro. I'm 10 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 24, 2008.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

JT2505

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade. Only two out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Jennifer Paola Figueroa Villatoro. I was born on December 24, 2008 and I am 10 years old. I am in good health and I attend the Jocotenango feeding program. My mother’s name was Maria Del Carmen Villatoro Galindo, but unfortunately, she passed away about 2 years ago in an accident. My father’s name is Francisco Figueroa Garcia, but he abandoned my sisters and me. We actually live with my oldest sister and her husband and their baby. My brother-in-law is the one who covers the household expenses. He works as a messenger in Guatemala City. My oldest sister is the one who takes care of all of us. We live in a 2-room rented house with a separate kitchen. The house is made of tin with a concrete floor. We have electricity and we get water from my sister’s in-laws. I have 2 sisters. My sister and I walk about 20 minutes to get to the feeding program. I am in 4th grade this year.  After school, I help with the chores and play with my sisters.  My favorite colors are green, red, purple, light blue and pink. My favorite animals are dogs and cats. The foods I like to eat the most are cream cheese, avocados and tortillas. Currently, my family does not attend a church.

With much love and many blessings,

Jennifer Paola Figueroa Villatoro

Translated by Edwina Lyons/Living Water Missionary