Wilson Danilo Luis Benito
Ref# CA1760

About Me
My name is Wilson Danilo Luis Benito. I'm a 9-year-old.

My birthday is
March 16, 2014.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiche, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiche Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! How are you? I hope you are in good health together with your loved ones. My name is Wilson Danilo Luis Benito, and I am a happy and healthy 8-year-old boy. I am in first grade this year. In my free time, I like to play with my toy cars. My favorite color is blue, my favorite animal is a chick, and my favorite foods are beans with eggs and fried chicken.

Both of my parents live with me. My father works as day laborer and farmer to take care of our needs. My mother is a hardworking housewife and raises and sells hens to help support us economically. Additionally, I have three siblings: one brother and two sisters. I am joyful to say that we are all healthy, and God has taken good care of us. Also, we attend a Methodist church that is 1.5 hours away from where we live. I live in a village called Chuchuca, and it takes me 1 hour to walk to the feeding center. My humble house has walls made of adobe, the roof is made of tile, and the floor is made of cement. There are two rooms and a separate kitchen. We share this space with my uncles and grandparents. We have electricity at home, but no running water nor plumbing for a bathroom. To obtain water, we connect a hose to a natural water source. To use the bathroom, we go out into a field. We all split the cost of the electricity. The house is owned by my grandfather, and he allows us to live with him rent free. At home we also raise hens and a cow. Our greatest needs are corn, beans, and sugar. Thank you for all your support. God bless you!

The Living Waters Evangelism Team is speaking to families in Quiche by phone call. They spoke to my mother to receive information pertaining to me.

Kisses and hugs,

Wilson Danilo Luis Benito

Translated by: Kalyan Marroquin / AAC Missionary Intern