Alex Daniel Benito Ruiz
Ref# CH4311

About Me
My name is Alex Daniel Benito Ruiz. I'm a 11-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
March 1, 2008.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Alex Daniel Benito Ruiz.  I was born on March 1, 2008.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 15 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have two brothers and one sister.  My father’s name is Rolando, but he does not live with us.  My mother’s name is Julia and she has another husband now.  His name is Manuel.  He and my mother are working in the United States.  We have communication with them, and they send us money for our expenses each month.  My grandmother is the one who is taking care of us.   The house where we live belongs to my uncle.  It is made of brick with a ceramic tile floor.  It has six rooms and a kitchen which is made of cement blocks and a tin roof.  We have water and electricity.  My grandmother raises domestic animals that she sells when we have some needs. I am in 4th grade, and in my free time, I like to play soccer.  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the tiger.  The foods that I like best are mangoes and chicken with rice.  My family attends Prince of Peace Church.

With much love and many blessings,

Alex Daniel Benito Ruiz

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary