Levi Bosbely Jonathan Simaj Ponce
Ref# PT0002

About Me
My name is Levi Bosbely Jonathan Simaj Ponce and I'm a 6-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
September 26, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

PT0002

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello!  My name is Levi Bosbely Jonathan Simaj Ponce. I was born on September 26, 2012, and I am six years old.  I am in good health, and I attend the feeding program at Pasojoc III. My father’s name is Victor, but sadly, he abandoned my family about four years ago.  He went to the United States and now has another family there.  My mother’s name is Juana and she sometimes travels to the coast to work.  My grandfather also travels to the coast to work.  He is the one who is responsible for our household expenses.  He also works in Guatemala City carrying packages and bundles for other people.  My family lives in the house with my grandparents.  The house is adobe with a tin roof and cement floor.  The house has two rooms and a separate kitchen that is made of plasterboard.  We do not have electricity or running water.  We use candles for lighting, and we carry our water from the river.  I have 2 brothers, and we walk to the feeding program with either my mother or my grandmother.  I am in 1st grade this year, and when I am not in school, I like to play soccer.  My favorite color is white, and my favorite animal is the squirrel.  The foods that I like to eat the most are chicken soup and papayas.  My family attends a church called “Prince of Peace”.

With much love and many blessings,

Levi Bosbely Jonathan Simaj Ponce

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary