Lebita


Gender Female
Birth Date Jun 04, 2014
Age 4 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Pasojoc
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

PA1934

Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello, my name is Lebita Morente Luis.  I was born on June 4, 2014 and I am 4 years old.  My father’s name is Raul and he is a farmer.  My mother’s name is Maria and she is a housewife.  My family travels to the coast each year to work during the coffee harvest.  We own the house in which we live.  It is adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We do not have electricity or running water.  We get our water from a natural water source nearby.  I have only 1 brother, and my mother is the one who takes me to the feeding program.  I do not go to school yet because I am still too young, so I spend my time playing with my dolls.  My favorite color is green, and my favorite animal is the rabbit.  The foods that I like to eat the most are watermelon and soup with rice.  My family attends a church called “Prince of Peace.”

 

With much love and many blessings,

Lebita Morente Luis

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

 

 

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

$30.00

$360.00

$90.00