Emily Sucely Alvarez Gomez
Ref# ZA4428

About Me
My name is Emily Sucely Alvarez Gomez. I'm a 5-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 5, 2014.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

ZA4428

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley. The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish. Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe. Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen. It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Emily Sucely Alvarez Gomez. I was born on May 5, 2014 and I am 4 years old. I am in good health and I attend the Zacualpa feeding program. My father’s name is Camilo Alvarez Tino and he is a farmer. He also is a musician in our church. My mother’s name is Emilia Gomez De la Cruz and she is a seamstress. She makes and sells typical blouses Thursdays and Sundays in the market. We own the house in which we live. It is made of brick and tile with a concrete floor. The house has 3 rooms and a separate kitchen. It has running water and electricity. We have two dogs and 1 cat.  I have one brother and one sister.  My grandmother is the one person who takes me to the feeding program. I do not go to school yet because I am still too young, so I spend my time playing with my dolls, stuffed animals and toy dishes. My favorite color is pink, and my favorite animals are cats and doves. The foods that I like to eat the most are cereal and fried chicken.  My family attends a catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Emily Sucely Alvarez Gomez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary