Ledio Thana
Ref# UMT0011

About Me
My name is Ledio Thana. I'm a 9-year-old.

My birthday is
July 11, 2012.
Sponsorship Type


Attends Program

Upper Mokra

Program Country


My Story

Hello! My name is Ledio Thana. I am an 8 year old boy and my birthday is on July 11th. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My family and I live in Pervelan, part of the community of Trebinja, Upper Mokra. My favorite color is red and my future dream is to be a Polic. I spend my free time playing outside with my friends, right after school. Our games are simple as hide and seek, running races, as well as a few common games we have in the village. I also love to play football and when I grow up, I like to play football for the team of my country. I frequent the third grade at school and enjoy learning. My favorite subject we do at school is the sport hour that we call the physical culture. We are off from school till January 11th. My family and I celebrated the New Year at home and had a happy time altogether as family. My grandmother cooked a special dinner for us and we enjoyed it while waiting the New Year arrival. My father’s name is Gjergji and my mother’s name is Gurie. My mother left our family and emigrated in Greece to live with another man. My parents are divorced and my grandmother is the one who cares for all of us, doing the cooking, cleaning and the housekeeping. My father, Gjergji since my mother left is consuming at times alcohol and we have been faced hardships even from what he is doing. He works less and we have no other support. Only our grandmother receives a small pension from her previous job. She is retired already. I have a 10 years old sister who has become same as a mother to me. She also cooks when my grandmother is unwell and washes our dishes and clothes. Klara is also registered in the programme and she is frequenting the 5th grade at school.

My father and grandmother are dealing with agriculture and raising our cow. We own land and plant in it crops, vegetables as well as alfalfa or corn that serves as stock food for our cow. My grandmother bakes the bread at home and this is why my father plants wheat. My grandmother besides tomatoes, peppers plant also beans so that we can consume them especially during the winter. My grandmother and father care for a cow and we benefit milk and other sub products from it. Selling its calf, my father earns a good amount that he uses to buy for us more food or what is needed the most in our family. My father has already managed to provide the stock food the cow needs during the winter. The government is giving a social assistance to our family because what we benefit from the land or animals is too less to meet our needs for the living. We use in our home a fire cooking stove so that we can stay warm in our living room. We only have the possibility to use wood for heating and my father has managed to provide the wood that we need to burn during all the winter. I am very happy that I am now registered in the sponsorship programme of Adopt a Child to gain help and support. I am benefiting once every month a package that contains groceries as flour, sugar, oil, sugar, rice, washing detergents, soaps, etc and we feel privileged to get such a great help as family. I have also received a Christmas gift containing school supplies that were needed for me. The team comes to our village twice a week and they are doing Bible study meetings for the ladies and children’s meetings for the teens above 13. I can’t yet frequent the Bible classes because of the Pandemic distancing rules. Even that we live in a Muslim community many ladies are frequenting the meeting and learning from the Bible. Thank you for your care and God bless you!

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania