Maribela Dominga Hernandez Calachij
Ref# CA1839

About Me
My name is Maribela Dominga Hernandez Calachij. I'm a 10-year-old.

My birthday is
December 25, 2013.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Hello! This is Maribela and it is a great privilege for me to share a little bit of my life with you. I am nine years old, and I attend the Church of Christ. My family and I attend our services on Wednesdays and Sundays. A teacher of LW shared the gospel with us to strengthen our faith while she collected this information for you. Besides that, I want you to know that this project is a great blessing because they look for ways to help many families like mine materially and spiritually. My father is Camilo Hernandez, and he is 54 years old. He farms the land for other people three or four days weekly. Besides that, he cultivates corn for our consumption. My mother is Maria Calachij, and she is 30 years old. She is a very busy housewife, and she raises hens that she sometimes sells. Thankfully, we are all healthy. I am a third-grade student now. I am so happy to receive face-to-face classes again because it is so much better for learning my lessons. The economy of my family is not as good as I would like. Our priorities are clothes and food supplies like corn.

My father does his best for us, although there are not enough work opportunities for him. He thinks this is because of his age. Therefore, I want to count on your prayers for my father so that he can continue supporting my school expenses. One of my biggest dreams is to become a teacher, and I know God will help me accomplish this. I am a big fan of Christmastime because I spend unique moments with my family and eat delicious tamales (this is a typical dish). Here in my country, there are many hot beverages, but there is nothing better than a warm cup of Incaparina (this is a typical hot drink). Quiche is my native language, but I would like to learn how to speak Spanish and English someday. I love to do many things for my birthday, and some of them are wearing my favorite clothes, going for walks, and enjoying the day with my family. I like exercising, so I enjoy running and going for short or long walks. I leave you now, but I thank you so much for taking the time to read my letter.

Kind regards,

Maribela Dominga Hernandez Calachij

Translated by: Hillary Popol, AAC Secretary / Antigua Guatemala