Deisy Karina Gutierrez Xum
Ref# TU2975

About Me
My name is Deisy Karina Gutierrez Xum. I'm a 9-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
February 16, 2013.
Attends Program

Tunajá

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Tunajá is a very primitive area of the state of Quiché, Guatemala. The inhabitants are Quiché Indians who trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. The prevalent language is the Indian dialect - Quiché. The people are either farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors. Very little money ever changes hands as they use a barter system. Public education is available - however, most families cannot afford it. Electricity and running water are not available in most of the area. Life in Tunajá is extremely difficult.

Hello! I feel so happy to be part of the Feeding program and have the opportunity to share a little about me with you. My name is Deisy Karina Gutierrez Xum. I live in a town called Tunaja. I am 8 years old, and I was born on February 16, 2013. My father’s name is Luis Fernando Gutierrez Garcia, and my mother’s name is Antonia Victoriana Xum Simaj. I have one brother and one sister. I attend school as a second grader. In my free time, I like to play dolls and watch TV. My favorite color is red, my favorite animal is a butterfly, and my favorite dish is fried chicken. I am healthy. LW team came near where we live to obtain our information. However, they kept their distance in order to keep everyone safe. My mother provided this information. I live happily along with my family. My father works in a bank in a place called Chichicastenango which is far from our town (about two hours by bus). He travels every day. He works from Monday to Friday. My mother is a housewife and raises hens for selling. My parents have a small grocery store at home which my mother tends. We have our own house made of block walls, tin sheet roof, cement floor with two rooms and separate kitchen. Thank God, we have both running water and electricity. Our home is near the Feeding Program. My family does not attend any church. God bless you!

Best wishes,

Deisy Karina Gutierrez Xum

 

Translated by Lucia Gravez/AAC Secretary