Jeniffer Esperanza Coj Riz
Ref# ZA4659

About Me
My name is Jeniffer Esperanza Coj Riz. I'm a 10-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 12, 2011.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley. The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small town tradesmen. It also has a large open air market which serves much of the area. Even with all of this, the poverty level is very high and the children are very needy.

Hello! How are you? My name is Jeniffer Esperanza Coj Riz. I was born on April 12, 2011, and I am 10 years old. I am a healthy girl, and I am in fourth grade this year; due to the pandemic, I only attend school on Monday and Tuesday. I enjoy drawing, coloring and running in my free time. I love pink, and I like dogs. My favorite food is fried chicken. I have three brothers and four sisters. I live about 10 minutes away from the feeding program, and my siblings are part of the program too; it is faster to get there by bus. We are attending a church.

My father’s name is Hector Coj Gomez, and he works as a construction helper. My mother’s name is Vicenta Riz Simaj, and she is a housewife; she raises hens for selling when we are in need of money. We live in our own house which is made of adobe with a tin sheet roof and concrete floor; it has two rooms and one kitchen. We have running water and electricity. This is my personal information, and I hope you find it interesting.

Sincerely yours

Jeniffer Esperanza Coj Riz

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary, Antigua