Genesis Rocio Sosof Toma
Ref# ZA4628

About Me
My name is Genesis Rocio Sosof Toma. I'm a 7-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
January 12, 2015.
Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley. The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe. Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small, specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers, and many other small-town tradesmen. It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area. Even with all of this, the poverty level is very high, and the children are very needy.

Hello! I am very excited to be writing this letter to you. I hope your life is filled with many of God’s blessings. My name is Genesis Rocio Sosof Toma. I live in a town called Zacualpa. I am 6 years old, and I was born on January 12, 2015. My mother’s name is Martidriana Sosof Toma. I have no brothers and no sisters. I attend school as a preschooler. In my free time, I like to study, play, and help with chores. My favorite color is purple, my favorite animal is a dog, and my favorite dish is cereal. My cousin gave the evangelism team my information over the phone because of COVID-19; they are avoiding as much physical contact as possible to keep everyone safe. My biological mother gave me away to my cousin Adriana when I was 2 months old. My cousin is trying to legally adopt me since she has been taking care of me since I was a newborn. My cousin works as an auxiliary nurse. She works Monday to Friday. During the weekends she can stay home with me. When Adriana is at work, one of Adriana’s cousins named Dominga takes care of me. Adriana is divorced so she does not have a partner to help her support me. The house we live in is rented. Our humble house is made of tin sheet. There is 1 room and a separate kitchen. We thankfully have running water, electricity, and a drainage system in the bathroom. The house is located about 6 blocks from the feeding program. As for my health, thank God I am healthy. Our needs are dental attention since I have some cavities. I am a member of the Methodist Church. I am grateful for God’s love and mercy in my life.

With lots of love,

Genesis Rocio Sosof Toma

Translated by: Kalyan Marroquin / Missionary Intern