Daren Abdiel Gutierrez Gutierrez
Ref# ZA4610

About Me
My name is Daren Abdiel Gutierrez Gutierrez. I'm a 8-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
June 25, 2013.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley. The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe. Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small, specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers, and many other small-town tradesmen. It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area. Even with all of this, the poverty level is very high, and the children are very needy.

Hello! I am very excited to be writing this letter to you. I hope your life is filled with many of God’s blessings. My name is Daren Abdiel Gutierrez Gutierrez. I live in a town called Zacualpa. I am 8 years old, and I was born on June 25, 2013. My father’s name is Walter Enrique Gutierrez Toj, and my mother’s name is Irma Yolanda Gutierrez Leon. I have no brothers and no sisters. However, my mother is 9 months pregnant, so I will soon have a sibling! I am attending school as a second grader. In my free time, I like to study and help with chores around the house. My favorite color is blue, my favorite animal is a dog, and my favorite dish is fried chicken. My mother gave the evangelism team my information over the phone because of COVID-19; they are avoiding as much physical contact as possible to keep everyone safe. My father sells floors so he can support our family. My mother stays home to take care of me. The house we live in belongs to my parents. The humble house is made of block and concrete, the floor in the kitchen is concrete, and the floor in the rooms is ceramic. There are 3 rooms and a separate kitchen. We have running water, electricity, and a drainage system in the bathroom. Our home is located about a 20 to 30-minute walk from the feeding program. Sometimes we take a motorcycle and arrive at the feeding program in 10 minutes. Our needs are groceries. As for our health, thank God we are all healthy. I am a member of Liberty Church in Zacualpa. I grateful for God’s love and faithfulness in my life.

Hugs and kisses,

Daren Abdiel Gutierrez Gutierrez

Translated by: Kalyan Marroquin / Missionary Intern