Marina Leka
Ref# PP0003

About Me
My name is Marina Leka. I'm 10 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 22, 2010.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Proptisht

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Marina Leka. I am a 10 years old girl and my birthday is on April 22nd. I am enjoying good health. My future dream is to study and become a teacher. My favorite game to play is football and the color I prefer the most is red. I completed the fourth grade at school. During the lockdown, our teachers gave to us the lessons online and we replied to them using the Mobile phone of our family. We had a class group where we communicated and sent our homework. My older sister helped me to communicate with my teacher and she had helped me very much while I was doing my lessons. I am doing well with the lessons at school and enjoy learning. My favorite school subject is Language. I like to help my mother at home when she cooks or when she cleans our home.  

My father’s name is Gentjan and my mother’s name is Miranda. I have a sister whose name is Sidorela. She is 15 years old and completed the ninth grade at school.  My family and I live in Proptisht. My village offers a beautiful view and is surrounded from many hills. A river is also running alongside our village. My family makes the living by working in the lands and raising animals. The lands are in the hills and not as much productive. All the working on the lands is done by hand because machineries can’t reach them. Even though, a heavy tractor might reach in a few places. Usually, my parents plant crops as wheat or corn. My mother prefers to bake the bread at home therefore my parents plant as much wheat as possible to make sure they have flour that will last for one year. The harvest time is on July when all the people in the village are busy collecting their wheat and grinding it to flour. We have a vegetable garden close to our home and plant tomatoes, peppers, beans, anions etc. We also have fruit trees as apples, plums, walnuts, cherries surrounding their gardens or lands and a few vines. Working in the lands or raising animals, my family is not able to fully cover the expenses needed for the living therefore my father is emigrating and working in Greece for three months within the year. He gets hired from the people in agriculture and profits a better income which means a lot for a family living in Albania. My family, same as all the others in Proptisht is yet not able to cover fully what is needed the most for their living and we are poor. I love the Lord Jesus and attend regularly the children’s services of the church in Proptshit. My sister is attending the discipleship Bible study for teenagers. We go to church twice a week. Once every month we are blessed from our church with a food package and I am very thankful to Living Water Adopt a Child who provide food for me and my family.  

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania