Jesica Mishel Castro Pacheco
Ref# CH4292

About Me
My name is Jesica Mishel Castro Pacheco. I'm a 6-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 5, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Jesica Mishel Castro Pacheco.  I was born on December 5, 2012.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 30 minutes to get to the feeding program. I have four brothers and four sisters. My father’s name is Mario and he works as a day laborer.  He travels to the coast frequently to work there.  My mother’s name is Juana and she takes care of our home and our domestic animals.  We own the house in which we live.  It has two rooms and a kitchen.  The house is made of adobe and tin sheet metal with a concrete floor.  We have water and electricity.  I am in kindergarten, and in my free time, I like to play with my dolls and toy foods.  I also like to color.  My favorite color is green and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods that I like the best are apples and black beans with rice.  My family attends a Catholic church. 

With much love and many blessings,

Jesica Mishel Castro Pacheco

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary